Sweet Potato Double Chocolate Cookies

Ok. Ok. It has been a looong time since I have posted anything of substance. I’ll be honest. Starting school has kicked my butt. It hasn’t been bad. Mostly because I have let a lot of extra stuff go.

Officially we are doing first and second grade – unofficially we are doing pre-school, k-4, first, second third and fifth grade. Yeah. I know. We have a lot going on- homeschool, garden, chickens, family, and friends, (not in that order of course).

One of the lessons I have learned in the last 365 days is: I can’t do it all.
Big shocker ( to no one but myself). I have learned (and I am learning) to say “no” and to guard my own heart. Baby steps but I’m making them.

Today we were driving to the dentist (triple dentist apt day) and we heard the local orchestra was doing a free lunch concert. Big yay! Afterward, I was gearing up to go then it happened. The clock struck 11. Big shocker. I had plenty of warning- like a lifetime of 11’s everyday, twice a day. But today as we left the dentist office (great first appointments by the way) I was tired. Hungry and tired.

I wanted to go to the concert. Really, I did. A free educational concert- what could be better?

The answer? Simple: food, rest and a rainy day at home.

IMG_2419.JPG

I am learning that me being well rested is worth more than a stressed out free concert during the lunch hour.

So I came home. We had lunch and made cookies. The kids played quietly or worked on bookwork. It was fantastic. No tears, no tempers, no growling stomach- and the kids did great too ;).

So maybe you need to slow it down a notch. Take one thing off your todo list and make some cookies and savor the insuing quiet.

These cookies are full of protein, low in sugar, wheat free and soooood decadently good. Play around and have fun!

Originally taken from this recipe.

Sweet Potato Double Chocolate Cookies

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IMG_2427.JPG
1 cup Sweet Potato Purée (I used my homemade frozen baby food cubes)
2/3 cup cocoa powder
1 cup peanut butter ( or nut butter of choice)
1 egg
2 TBS raw cream (any cream, yogurt will do)
1-2 TBS maple syrup (to taste- I don’t like things sweet)
Pinch or two of salt (1/8 teaspoon) if nut butter is unsalted

Blend in blender. I used frozen sweet potato cubes and power everything through my vitamix.

Bake 350, for 10 min. These looked baked (dull edges) and had shiny centers that were set (did not jiggle).

IMG_2411.JPG
Eat hot out of the oven for a gooey, yummy hot-raw cookie dough effect. If that thought just made you gag then wait for them to set up into the fudgiest, chocolatiest, brownie-type cookie ever. If you would like a slightly drier (but still incredibly moist) forget you’re baking cooking and let the timer ring for an additional 2-5 min. Still delicious. I checked. Enjoy!

Of course you could follow the original recipe and fall in love all over again. Or make them both! Hey- it’s that eat everything orange season anyway!

Cheers,
Lia D.

Ps. Need more Chocolate Inspiration? Follow me here:

4 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Double Chocolate Cookies

Leave a Reply

