Rich Creamy Cheesecake Topped with Flourless Chocolate Cake

Rich Creamy Cheesecake Topped with Flourless Chocolate Cake 

(NOTE: This post should have gone up in September- I really do know when my husband’s birthday is. No pictures this time but I’ll be reposting this with pictures closer to the holidays)

It was my husband’s birthday this week! He is an amazing husband, friend and father. We are blessed! My husband loves cheesecake so I made him this last year for the first time. AMAZING!! I made it two more times before the year ended and then retired the recipe for the sake of my waistline ;).

But as Keith’s birthday approached again I found myself wondering if I should make cheesecake again. Early in the year a friend had brought over a slice of decadent chocolate flourless chocolate cake. And the memory of it was swirling over my taste buds inviting me to try making it myself. 

I was torn- try something new? Or go which tried and true? Both required the intimidating “ban Marie” water bath method. Could I try it again? The last cheese cake the foil had leaked and I was disappointed not to have a perfect cheesecake. A friend encouraged me to try again. So I did and I am so glad I did. While this cake takes more effort than some it is well worth the effort. Absolutely essential is the temperature of the ingredients. They need to be room temperature or they will not blend up into the smooth velvety texture that is prized for both treats.

When you can’t choose one choose both!

Rich Creamy Cheesecake Topped with Flourless Chocolate Cake

The original recipes are here chocolate flourless chocolate cake and here.

*Note: Should you check back to the original recipes I have altered the amount of sugar, the water bath method and omitted cornstarch from the cheesecake.

Without further ado:

Rich Creamy Cheesecake Topped with Flourless Chocolate Cake

[recipe title=”Rich Creamy Cheesecake Topped with Flour Chocolate Cake” time=” 30 min active 2 hr bake 8hr cool down” difficulty=”Moderate” serves=”varies 16-24″

Cheesecake
(At room temperature)
4 packages of cream cheese 
1 pint (2 cups) sour cream
5 eggs (farm fresh extra yellow – this makes a difference :))
1/2 cup fresh butter (unsalted)

1 cup organic sugar

1 teaspoon good quality vanilla extract 
Juice of 1 lemon

I used my vitamix, a bowl, and a wooden spoon but a hand mixer or kitchen aid would work just fine.
Preheat oven to 300 degrees 
 
Cream butter and cheese together until light and fluffy move to separate bowl. Whip eggs, sugar and sour cream slowly add flavorings and butter mixture. Butter a 10 in springform pan and add filling. Bake in water bath* 2 hours at 300 degrees. At the 1:15 mark top with flourless chocolate cake.

*No foil water bath method. I placed the springform pan on a deep dish pie pan in a Dutch over roaster. I filled the Dutch oven with water to the pie plate’s rim. Put the lid of the Dutch oven on crosswise to allow the steam to escape. This made a great-moist cake no water sog.

See original recipes for official water bath instructions.

While the cheese cake bakes prepare the topping.

Flourless Chocolate Cake 
(1/2 batch)

The original recipe is here. Amazing. Do try it on it’s own some time

2 bars (9 oz total) fine quality dark  (at least 70%) chocolate 
3 Fresh eggs
1/2 cup butter 
1/4 water
1/4 sugar
Pinch of salt

In sauce pan melt sugar, salt and water together over medium heat.
Melt chocolate slowly over low heat. Remove from heat. Whisk in butter.
Blend (I used vitamix) sugar mixture and chocolate together. Add eggs in one at a time. Blend vigorously for few seconds until light and fluffy. 

At the 1:15 mark CAREFULLY spoon chocolate mixture on cheese cake. Do not move cheese cake or water bath. I used a wide serving spoon to slowly and carefully spread the the topping. I smoothed it gently, covered the Dutch oven and baked about 40 more min. The center looked very wet when I took it out- it is supposed too! I turned off the oven and left it in the open oven, uncovered 30 min before moving it to the frig to cool. I removed the spring form pan the next morning.

Delicious!

Leave a Reply

