Without Want

It was a few weeks ago that I was talking to God about some different areas in our life. As I paused in thought I remembered the phrase, “I shall not want”. 

It is in the first line of the 23rd Psalm. A pretty common verse, yet, in that moment it became a promise I could believe.

It was really an amazing moment.

  

So often though I look at the snapshots of my life and feel uncertain.

I feel uncertain of what is right,  of what I can expect, and of the future.

 

      I forget the ridiculous blessings, gifts, miracles. I forget who God is.

       I forget to bring the groceries bills, the sickness, the tiredness, the bad attitudes, the relationships, the uncertainty and ALL the stuff that life is made of before the One who I know as faithful, as loving, and as pursuing friend. 

                  When I forget, I choose the only thing that looks certain, fear.

I shall not want. 

It is a promise based on who Jesus is- 

My shepherd.

I can be certain.

I shall not want for time. I shall not want for energy. I shall not want for strength. I shall not want for material goods. I shall not want for joy.

“The young lions do lack and suffer hunger; But they who seek the LORD shall not be in want of any good thing.”

“Taste and see that the Lord is good.”

Feed on His faithfulness”  (ISV)

“I would have lost heart unless I believed to see His goodness in the Land of the living.”

 I feel like a child who has picked up a very common stone. These are common truths. Yet, these words have become treasured promises I mean to keep.

   

May this be a day beyond what you can imagine.

Good morning, Lisa D.

Leave a Reply

